Marvin Jahnke
Nov 10, 2023

How to use heylogin separately for Personal and Business Purposes

heylogin offers many advantages in the digital workday, and naturally, you would want to benefit from it at home as well. In this article, we will explain how to set up a private account and what you need to pay attention to in order to optimally separate leisure and work.

Important: heylogin requires a smartphone or a security key per account, but you can create a private account alongside the work account; the two are technically completely separate. However, a smartphone is mandatory for the private account, the security key is only supported here as an additional unlocking device, not as a smartphone replacement.

Why should I separate private and work logins?

While personal and professional aspects can occasionally intertwine, a clear boundary should always be established when dealing with technology.

There are several reasons for this:

  • You won't accidentally mix services that you use both privately and at work
  • You won't be distracted by private matters at work
  • IT security guidelines can be better adhered to

This way, you maintain control over your private logins and can relax after work without constantly encountering company logins while browsing.

How do I create a private account?

Important: When using a private account, you must take care of backup and restoration yourself; your admin and we as operators do not have access to your account. More on this can be found further below in the text.

To create a private account, you can go to settings and open the "Accounts" menu. Scroll down and click on "Create Private Account".

On the following page, you just need to enter the email address you want to link to your private account and confirm by clicking on the "Create Account" button.

What should I consider during the further setup?

For parallel heylogin usage, there are a few additional functions that facilitate the separation of private and work logins.

Don't display teams on the smartphone

If you like to use your smartphone for browsing the internet at home but don't want to constantly be suggested work logins, you can turn off the team logins for your smartphone. However, this can only be done in the web app, as only there is the team management available to you. By clicking on the team name, you open the team overview. Here, if not already done, you must turn off the toggle for "Show on Mobile Device".

Don't display your Private Account on the work computer

To avoid displaying private logins at work, such as payment service providers like Paypal, all accounts in browsers connected with heylogin can be activated and deactivated. To do this, simply call up the account settings in the web app and deactivate the respective accounts for the currently used browser via toggle.

Secure backup and account access

Another important point: Your admin can restore your work logins, but not your private logins. For additional security, you can set up a security key or other alternative unlocking methods that can unlock the web app alongside your smartphone. This way, you can continue to use your logins even if you lose your smartphone.

Additionally, you should take care of a backup to further secure your account. For this, you have two options:

  • The backup function of Apple or Google, which allows you to restore your smartphone data on a new device
  • Our backup code, which allows you to transfer your heylogin account to a new smartphone, regardless of the manufacturer.

Note that the backup code must be generated in the mobile app before losing the smartphone. Instructions for this can be found in our web app.

And with that, you know everything you need for creating and managing a private account. If you have any questions, feel free to visit our Help Center or contact our support.

Try our free Private Plan now